Вход / регистрация

Вручение 20 июня 2018 г.

Страна: Великобритания Место проведения: город Лондон, улица Пикадилли, Fortnum & Mason Дата проведения: 20 июня 2018 г.

Премия Десмонда Эллиота

Лауреат
Preti Taneja 0.0
The story of a billionaire family dynasty, led by a gold-plated madman, stewed in corruption, mired in violence, riven by infighting, deception and lies… The resonances will be there for anyone who knows King Lear - not to mention anyone struggling to come to terms with the new world order - from the rise of the religious right wing in India to the Trump dynasty in the United States. This is not just Shakespeare repurposed for our times – it’s a novel that urgently matters in 2017, and which will resonate for years to come.

Jivan Singh, the bastard scion of the Devraj family, returns to his childhood home after a long absence – only to witness the unexpected resignation of the ageing patriarch from the vast corporation he founded, the Devraj Company. On the same day, Sita, Devraj’s youngest daughter, absconds – refusing to submit to the marriage her father wants for her. Meanwhile, Radha and Gargi, Sita’s older sisters, must deal with the fallout… And so begins a brutal, deathly struggle for power, ranging over the luxury hotels and spas of New Delhi and Amritsar, the Palaces and slums of Napurthala, to Srinagar, Kashmir.

Told in astonishing prose – a great torrent of words and imagery – We that are young is a modern-day King Lear that bursts with energy and fierce, beautifully measured rage. Set against the backdrop of the anti-corruption protests in 2011–2012, it provides startling insights into modern India, the clash of youth and age, the hectic pace of life in one of the world’s fastest growing economies – and the ever-present spectre of death. More than that, this is a novel about the human heart. And its breaking point.
Paula Cocozza 0.0
From Guardian writer Paula Cocozza, a debut novel of the breakdown of a marriage, suburban claustrophobia, and a woman's unseemly passion for a fox

One summer’s night, Mary comes home from a midnight ramble to find a baby lying on her back door step. Has Mary stolen the baby from next door? Has the baby’s mother, Mary's neighbor, left her there in her acute state of post-natal depression? Or was the baby brought to Mary as a gift by the fox who is increasingly coming to dominate her life?

So opens How to Be Human, a novel set in a London suburb beset by urban foxes. On leave from work, unsettled by the proximity of her ex, and struggling with her hostile neighbors, Mary has become increasingly captivated by a magnificent fox who is always in her garden. First she sees him wink at her, then he brings her presents, and finally she invites him into her house. As the boundaries between the domestic and the wild blur, and the neighbors set out to exterminate the fox, it is unclear if Mary will save the fox, or the fox save Mary.
Имоджен Гермес Гауэр 3.8
Сентябрьской ночью 1785 года купца Джону Хэнкока будит отчаянный стук в дверь. Это с многомесячным опозданием вернулся капитан одного из его кораблей — «Каллиопы». Однако вернулся без «Каллиопы»: капитан Джонс продал корабль, чтобы купить диво дивное — чучело русалки. Новость мгновенно разносится по Лондону, по блестящим салонам и продымленным кофейням. Русалка открывает скромному купцу самые неожиданные двери — и вот на приеме в «Королевской обители» Джона Хэнкок встречает Анжелику Нил — самую пленительную женщину, какую ему только доводилось видеть. Судьбы их неизбежно — и самым неожиданным образом — переплетутся; но смогут ли они избегнуть рокового проклятия, которое, по древнему поверью, накладывает русалка?..

Впервые на русском — главный бестселлер из британских дебютов 2018 года, «бесподобный исторический роман о страсти и наваждении» (The Times), «неистощимый кладезь рискованного юмора и читательского удовольствия» (Evening Standard).
Гейл Ханимен 4.3
Элеанор не везет: её окружают непримечательные люди с примитивными вкусами и бедным словарным запасом (так ей, по крайней мере, кажется). Но всё меняется, когда, отправившись однажды на концерт, она видит элегантно одетого рок-музыканта. Элеанор сразу понимает: это ОН. Правда, пока она готовится к знаменательной встрече, ей приходится довольствоваться куда более скромной компанией.

Элеанор Олифант в полном порядке. Так она говорит окружающим. Вот только она старается не вспоминать о прошлом и спасается водкой от бессонницы.

Постепенно забавный рассказ о жизни социально неадаптированной женщины превращается в грустную, трогательную историю о детской травме, любви и одиночестве. В историю, которая никого не оставит равнодушным.
Xan Brooks 0.0
‘An orphan is travelling through the deep, dark woods and discovers that the monsters she encounters are as much tragic as wicked and that the handsome young prince may be ugly inside. The world around her is callous, unjust and horribly scarred by the past. But she brings compassion and even a glimmer of hope.’

Summer 1923. The modern world. Orphaned Lucy Marsh climbs into the back of the old army truck and is whisked off to the woods, where the funny men live. If she can only avoid all the hazards on the path, she may just survive into a bright new tomorrow.
Francesca Hornak 3.7
It’s Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be under one roof. Even Emma and Andrew’s elder daughter—who is usually off saving the world—will be joining them at Weyfield Hall, their aging country estate. But Olivia, a doctor, is only coming home because she has to. Having just returned from treating an epidemic abroad, she’s been told she must stay in quarantine for a week…and so too should her family.

For the next seven days, the Birches are locked down, cut off from the rest of humanity—and even decent Wi-Fi—and forced into each other’s orbits. Younger, unabashedly frivolous daughter Phoebe is fixated on her upcoming wedding, while Olivia deals with the culture shock of being immersed in first-world problems.

As Andrew sequesters himself in his study writing scathing restaurant reviews and remembering his glory days as a war correspondent, Emma hides a secret that will turn the whole family upside down.

In close proximity, not much can stay hidden for long, and as revelations and long-held tensions come to light, nothing is more shocking than the unexpected guest who’s about to arrive…
Lucy Hughes-Hallett 0.0
The Costa Award-winning author of The Pike makes her literary fiction debut with an extraordinary historical novel in the spirit of Wolf Hall and Atonement—a great English country house novel, spanning three centuries, that explores surprisingly timely themes of immigration and exclusion.

It is the seventeenth century and a wall is being raised around Wychwood, transforming the great house and its park into a private realm of ornamental lakes, grandiose gardens, and majestic avenues designed by Mr. Norris, a visionary landscaper. In this enclosed world everyone has something to hide after decades of civil war. Dissenters shelter in the woods, lovers rendezvous in secret enclaves, and outsiders — migrants fleeing the plague — find no mercy.

Three centuries later, far away in Berlin, another wall is raised, while at Wychwood, an erotic entanglement over one sticky, languorous weekend in 1961 is overshadowed by news of historic change. Young Nell, whose father manages the estate, grows up amid dramatic upheavals as the great house is invaded: a pop festival by the lake, a television crew in the dining room, a Great Storm brewing. In 1989, as the Cold War peters out, a threat from a different kind of conflict reaches Wychwood’s walls.

Lucy Hughes-Hallett conjures an intricately structured, captivating story that explores the lives of game keepers and witches, agitators and aristocrats; the exuberance of young love and the pathos of aging; and the way those who try to wall others out risk finding themselves walled in. With poignancy and grace, she illuminates a place where past and present are inextricably linked by stories, legends, and history—and by one patch of peculiar ground.

"Unlike anything I’ve read. With its broad scope and its intimacy and exactness, it cuts through the apparatus of life to the vivid moment. Haunting and huge, and funny and sensuous. It’s wonderful."—Tessa Hadley
Carmen Marcus 0.0
Ten years old and irrepressibly curious, Ellie lives with her fisherman father, Peter, on the wild North Yorkshire coast. It’s the 1980s and her mother’s breakdown is discussed only in whispers, with the promise ‘better by Christmas’ and no further explanation.

Steering by the light of her dad’s sea-myths, her mum’s memories of home across the water, and a fierce spirit all her own, Ellie begins to learn – in these sudden, strange circumstances – who she is and what she can become. By the time the first snowdrops show, her innocence has been shed, but at great cost.

This vivacious and deeply moving novel portrays adult breakdown through the eyes of a brightly imaginative child, sensitively explores questions of responsibility and care, and, above all, celebrates the power of stories to shape, nourish and even save us.
Andrew Meehan 0.0
A young woman comes to in the Paris restaurant in which she apparently works – she has survived some kind of trauma, but her memories haven’t. Something tells her there has been a reprieve. Yet when she crosses paths with a mysterious man called Eagleback, she becomes convinced that he holds the key to her identity. Over the course of a hot, sticky summer, she covertly pursues Eagleback while re-learning how to live. Then she must decide if she is ready to solve the emotional puzzle of her life so far.

One Star Awake is a stunningly inventive novel, a thrilling work of art – by turns heartbreaking and hilarious, witty and urgently poetic. This is a fractured fairy tale – a funny and touching testament to the highs and lows of self-discovery and love found in unlikely places.

Reviews

‘Meehan teases out the story through these two perspectives, and deals deftly with the challenge of ventriloquising a mentally disturbed amnesiac, who he treats with the delicacy of an author who has fallen in love with their creation. This is an astute and affecting work, cleverly plotted and paced. The writing is exceptional.’ – The Sunday Times

‘The twinned themes of memory and trauma are to the fore in a most unusual rendering that quietly grips the reader from the opening pages…Meehan is a naturally comic writer, in the vein of Kevin Barry and Colin Barrett, who sees humour in grim, airless situations.’ – The Irish Times

‘Andrew Meehan, a former head of development at the Irish Film Board, breathes new life into this subgenre in his debut novel by injecting humour and self-effacement into the existential riddle…This feeling of trying to hit a moving target gives One Star Awake a Teflon-coated atmosphere throughout that supplies it with thriller DNA.’ – Sunday Independent

‘Mesmerising, inventive, heart-wrenching, and brilliantly realised. The most interesting debut of 2017.’ – The Irish Examiner
Салли Руни 3.8
Студентки дублинского Тринити-колледжа Фрэнсис и Бобби дружат со школы. На одном из университетских поэтических вечеров они знакомятся с Мелиссой, известным фотографом, а позже и с ее мужем Ником, актером. Несмотря на то что Ник и Мелисса значительно старше Бобби и Фрэнсис, между ними завязываются дружеские отношения. Все четверо проводят вместе много времени, по большей части разговаривая — обсуждают искусство, литературу, политику, секс, дружбу и, конечно же, друг друга. У Фрэнсис начинается роман с Ником. В отношенияхс Бобби появляется отчужденность...

«Разговоры с друзьями» (2017) — первая книга Салли Руни, мгновенно сделавшая 26-летнюю выпускницу Тринити-колледжа всемирно известной писательницей.